_Misc_Mail_01-50 GoogleMaps Facebook-50

About Us Announcements Contact Us
We are a small, independent press located in Northern New Jersey specializing in niche publishing of non-fiction titles.

In the Vineyard of the Mind

by George E. N. de Man

List Price: $15.95
ISBN: 978-1-878282-02-6
Category: Poems, Plays and Aphorisms
Pub Date: April 15, 2004
Binding: Paper, 154 pages
To Place an Order Please Call: 201-387-1529
–or–
Email: d.biesel@verizon.net

In the Vineyard of the Mind is George de Man’s fifth book, and contains essays, reviews, gnomic sayings and revisions of famous sayings, experimental writing, and what the author refers to as “attics-full of intriguing arcane.”  The underlying theme of the book is that language is the “living art” par excellence, the repository of culture, confession and self-expression in their most vivid and yet most candid forms.  Thos familiar with de Man’s poetry will find little of it here, but rather essays on poets and poetry, and aphorisms that maintain the tradition of Montalgne and Emerson, sometimes philosophical, sometimes almost koans.  In essays on, and reviews of other books on, linguistics, de Man explores language origins, evolutions and inner workings, insofar as anyone can agree on them.  The author knows that many readers will know some of what is explored here, but he doubts any will claim to have known all of it.

“This book is what happens when a poet turns his hand to prose, when a men of wide experience and deep reading discusses the issues of the day, when a man of business refuses to give up the life of the mind.  George de Man’s idiosyncratic essays strike sparks”
–David Hicks, educator, essayist, Rhodes Scholar.
Translator of Meditations of Marcus Aurelius

“An insightful exploration of linguistic patterns and meanings underlying various forms of human expression, from myth and saga, through names and wordplay.”
–Anthony Hecht, Pulitzer Prize poet, essayist, and educator